The other boy was fine. Dazed initially. The helmet protected him twice: once when The Boy’s foot caught him in the side of his face, and then when his head hit the floor when he fell down. The whole side of his face was red.
We were sitting next to one of his instructors who turned to us and said “That was a great kick. I hope someone got that on video, because that’s exactly what you want to do.”
Had The Boy drawn blood he would have been disqualified, but since he did not, and it was a legal hit, he scored a point which was the third point of the match and gave him the victory.
(I’m glad they gave him the point for it, because the judges had mis-scored the match. It was actually 2-1 but they had announced it as 2-2 before that last round.)